10 Books To Read If You Love A Court Of Thorns & Roses

Summary

  • Sarah J. Maas blends fantasy and romance impressively in
    A Court of Thorns & Roses
    , creating a world full of magic, compelling relationships, and challenges.
  • Fans of
    ACOTAR
    should check out Maas’ other series, including
    Throne of Glass,
    for similar relationships, themes, and writing.
  • Many other books tackle both romance and fantasy, and other stories that feature fae may also appeal to
    ACOTAR
    fans.



A Court of Thorns & Roses is one of the most popular “romantasy” books out there, but it may leave readers wishing to pick up something similar once they’ve finished the series. Sarah J. Maas’ ACOTAR books blend fantasy and romance impressively, and that balance is part of their appeal. Following Feyre Archeron as she’s dragged into the fae lands of Prythian, the series sees her carving out a surprising life for herself — one that’s full of magic, romance, and seemingly insurmountable challenges.

With so much going for it, perhaps it’s no surprise that A Court of Thorns & Roses has become so popular since the first book’s 2015 release. Maas has written two direct sequels, a novella, and a book following Feyre’s sister — and the author plans to expand the world further. While readers await new ACOTAR content, they might want to pick up something similar. Fortunately, there are a few books with themes, characters, and relationships that fit the bill.


Related

Casting Elain Archeron For A Court Of Thorns & Roses TV Show

ACOTAR protagonist Feyre Archeron’s soft-spoken sister Elain will be a challenge to cast because of the character’s subtle complexity and growth.


10 Throne Of Glass By Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas’ Other Series Have Similarities To ACOTAR

A composite image of Celaena from the Throne of Glass series with book covers

The
Throne of Glass
books are a good place to start.


Those who enjoy the A Court of Thorns & Roses books should pick up Maas’ other work, as all her series feature similar themes and writing. The Throne of Glass books are a good place to start. Throne of Glass has more of a high fantasy feeling, but the series still places a heavy focus on romance. It follows the assassin Celaena Sardothien as she’s forced into a competition to become the corrupt king’s champion. The narrative expands significantly from there, but Celaena’s journey is as gripping as Feyre’s — and it sees her engaging in similar relationships. The series also features fae and references ACOTAR in the last book.

9 The Cruel Prince By Holly Black

A Less Explicit Book About Fae & Love

Cover for the book The Cruel Prince featuring the title and thorns


Those looking for more fae stories can check out Holly Black’s The Cruel Prince, which also blends fantasy and romance — though the story is aimed at a slightly younger audience, so it’s not as explicit as ACOTAR. Even so, its premise shares similarities to Maas’ story. It follows 17-year-old Jude as she tries to prove herself in the world of fae she’s grown up in despite being human. This fish-out-of-water story resembles Feyre’s in some ways, though the fae in Black’s novel are more mean-spirited than those in ACOTAR. This makes the central enemies-to-lovers romance that much more fun, and it could be a great next stop after ACOTAR.

8 Fourth Wing By Rebecca Yarros

Another BookTok Darling With A Steamy Romance At Its Core

This image is a closeup of the Fourth Wing book cover.

Fourth Wing has a significantly different premise than A Court of Thorns & Roses, but Rebecca Yarros’ best-selling book is just as beloved on BookTok and in other online spaces. That’s likely because it features a similarly immersive fantasy world and has a compelling couple at its center.


The story follows Violet Sorrengail as she begins her journey as a dragon rider at the cutthroat Basgiath War College.

The story follows Violet Sorrengail as she begins her journey as a dragon rider at the cutthroat Basgiath War College. She faces many challenges there, especially with a health condition that impacts her physical abilities, but she also falls in love with her Wing Leader. Their forbidden romance will definitely appeal to ACOTAR fans, especially since it gets steamy.

7 From Blood And Ash By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Perfect For Fans Of ACOTAR’s Steamy Romance

Two swords on the cover of the book From Blood and Ash.


Also great for fans of A Court of Thorns & Roses steamier scenes, Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Blood and Ash books are perfect to pick up after finishing Maas’ series. Blood and Ash follows Poppy, a Maiden who has been chosen by the gods to Ascend and save her people from a dark fate. Her journey to help her kingdom gets more complex as it goes on, but Blood and Ash also features plenty of romance. Poppy finds herself torn between two men throughout the books — and although certain twists may not be for every reader, the romance is likely to appeal to at least some fans of ACOTAR.

6 The Serpent & The Wings Of Night By Carissa Broadbent

Features A Human & Vampire Relationship Instead Of Human & Fae

The Serpent & the Wings of Night Cover with a white background and leaves


Another romantasy offering for fans of ACOTAR, Carissa Broadbent’s The Serpent & the Wings of Night tackles the relationship between a human and a vampire rather than a human and a fae. Set in a fantasy world where survival is key, The Serpent & the Wings of Night follows Oraya — a human adopted by the Nightborn vampire king — as she competes in a tournament where she must take on powerful vampire warriors from other houses. This setup is compelling as it is, but her relationship with one of the contenders is what really sells the book. Similar to ACOTAR, Broadbent’s novel strikes a great balance between fantasy and romance.

5 Crescent City By Sarah J. Maas

The Author Takes On Similar Themes In A New Setting

The cover of Sarah J. Maas' Crescent City with a red background and a bird


Throne of Glass isn’t Maas’ only other series besides A Court of Thorns & Roses, and her Crescent City books have also become darlings of BookTok. Set in a more urban location than ACOTAR, Crescent City follows the half-fae, half-human Bryce as she investigates the death of her friends in the hopes of getting revenge. She receives help from the Fallen Angel Hunt Athalar, who becomes a love interest for her. Their stories go on for two more books, which get steamier as they go on. Maas’ writing in this series resembles her work on ACOTAR in several ways, so fans should definitely give the Crescent City books a try.

4 A Curse So Dark And Lonely By Brigid Kemmerer

A Love Story That Also Resembles Beauty And The Beast

A Curse So Dark And Lonely cover with branches and leaves


The first A Court of Thorns & Roses book resembles Beauty and the Beast in several ways, and Brigid Kemmerer’s A Curse So Dark and Lonely also puts a new spin on the classic fairytale. The story follows Prince Rhen, who is cursed to become a monster and relive the same season over and over, and Harper, who finds herself pulled into his fantastical world. Given the book’s focus on breaking a curse, A Curse So Dark and Lonely has a premise that’s similar to ACOTAR. It also has plenty of romance, though that element of the story is tamer than it is in ACOTAR.

3 House Of Beating Wings By Olivia Wildenstein

A Book About Fae With Romance, Magic, & Politics

House Of Beating Wings Cover with thorns and feathers around the title


Another fae story perfect for ACOTAR fans is House of Beating Wings by Olivia Wildenstein.House of Beating Wings follows half-human, half-fae Fallon, who learns from an oracle that she’ll one day become queen. Hoping to overthrow the current king and marry the prince she’s in love with, Fallon embarks on a journey to collect relics and make her destiny the one she’s always dreamed of. However, her story turns into something of a nightmare — but it’s got enough romance, magic, and politics to keep readers immersed.

2 Divine Rivals By Rebecca Ross

A Fast-Paced & Fun Fantasy Story That BookTok Loves

The book cover of Divine Rivals featuring Iris Winnow and Roman Kitt

Rebecca Ross’ Divine Rivals is another book that blew up on BookTok when it came out, though it’s quite different from A Court of Thorns & Roses. Divine Rivals tells the story of two competitors and colleagues with magical typewriters, which they unknowingly use to speak to one another. The pair realizes they’ve fallen for the person on the other typewriter as they’re in the midst of a war zone — one created by an angry god. The pair have a relationship that’s as compelling as any in ACOTAR, and their journey is both fast-paced and fun to read, making it ideal for fans of Maas’ books.


1 Shadow And Bone By Leigh Bardugo

A Fantasy Story With Romance Elements That Might Appeal To ACOTAR Fans

Side by side cover images of Shadow and Bone featuring the old and new design

Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone is also different from ACOTAR in terms of plot. It follows mapmaker Alina Starkov as she learns that she’s a magic-wielding Grisha — and not just any Grisha, but one who can control light and free her kingdom from a dark threat called the Fold. Alina is brought to court to do this, but she soon discovers corruption within the ranks of the Grisha. She also finds herself in a love triangle involving the Grisha leader. The romance element might appeal to ACOTAR fans who don’t mind forgoing the steamy scenes. Shadow and Bone also has an expansive world, like A Court of Thorns & Roses.